Shropshire History


Country Parks


to Index



A country park is an area designated for people to visit and enjoy recreation in a countryside environment. There are around 250 recognised Country Parks in England and Wales, attracting some 57 million visitors a year. Most country parks were designated in the 1970s, under the Countryside Act 1968, with the support of the former Countryside Commission. In more recent times, there has been no specific financial support for country parks directly and fewer have been designated.


Most are managed by local authorities, although there is nothing to stop anyone opening a site and calling it a country park. They usually have some facilities for visitors, such as a car park, toilets, cafe, trails and information for visitors. Some have museums, visitor centres, educational facilities, historic buildings, farms, boating, fishing, and other attractions. They vary in size and some are built around disused industrial sites such as mines.


Community woodland is a small area of woodland that is for the benefit of the public and maintained by local community volunteers.  They are usually owned by a local authority but can be owned by private individuals or even the community group itself (27% of woodland is so owned).











Gazetteer of Country Parks


Bayston Hill Community Woodland - SJ471083 (Shropshire Council)


Beck’s Field - SJ485122 (Shrewsbury & Atcham Council)


Benthall Edge Wood - SJ671033 (Severn Gorge Countryside Trust)


Bog Mine - SO357978 (Shropshire Council)


Brown Moss  - SJ562394 (Shropshire Council)


Burr’s Field - SJ489119 (Shrewsbury & Atcham Borough Council)


Cole Mere - SJ435328 (Shropshire Council)


Copthorne - SJ475129 (Shrewsbury & Atcham Council)


Corbet Wood - SJ525237 (Shropshire Council)


Coton Hill Community Woodland - SJ490139 (Shrewsbury & Atcham Council)


Doctor’s Field - SJ483131 (Shrewsbury & Atcham Council)


Henley Community Woodland - SJ306303 (Shropshire Council)


Hopesay Hill - SO401838 (National Trust)


Limekiln Wood - SJ651096 (Telford & Wrekin Council)


Llanymynech Limeworks Heritage Area - SJ266211 (Shropshire Council)


Loamhole Dingle - SJ667049 (Severn Gorge Countryside Trust)


Lodge Field - SJ671037 (Telford & Wrekin Council)


Long Mynd  - SO430940 (National Trust)


Lyth Hill - SJ471067 (Shropshire Council)


Madebrook Pools - SJ705066 (Telford & Wrekin Council)


Meole Brace Community Woodland - SJ487103 (Shrewsbury & Atcham Council)


Monkmoor Community Woodland - SJ519131 (Shrewsbury & Atcham Council)


Monkmoor Pool - SJ524136 (Shrewsbury & Atcham Council)


Monkmoor River Ground - SJ526138 (Shrewsbury & Atcham Council)


Mousecroft Community Woodland - SJ473109 (Shrewsbury & Atcham Council)


Nescliffe Hills - SJ386195 (Shropshire Council)


New England - SO726838 (Shropshire Council)


Nobold Meadows - SJ471112 (Shrewsbury & Atcham Council)


Old River Bed - SJ495149 (Shrewsbury & Atcham Council)


Oswestry Old Racecourse Common - SJ259300 (Shropshire Council)


Pimley Community Woodland - SJ517143 (Shrewsbury & Atcham Council)


Poplar Island - SJ491133 (Shrewsbury & Atcham Council)


Radbrook Pool - SJ478112 (Shrewsbury & Atcham Council)


Severn Valley Country Park - SO755838 (Shropshire Council)


Shelton Community Woodland - SJ472128 (Shrewsbury & Atcham Council)


Snailbeach Mine - SJ375022 (Shropshire Council)


Stanmore Country Park - SO743928 (Shropshire Council)


Telford Town Park - SJ695072 (Telford & Wrekin Council)


The Mere - SJ403348 (Shropshire Council)


Underdale Community Woodland - SJ507136 (Shrewsbury & Atcham Council)


Walcot Wood  - SO343839 (National Trust)


Wenlock Edge - SO572966 (National Trust)


Whitchurch Waterway Country Park - SJ529417 (Shropshire Council)